3pwmgen or 8i20 control loop

More
26 Feb 2013 07:22 #30581 by pavel7890
I did some perfomance calculations of Linuxcnc with 7i43 + either 3pwm generators or 8i20 driver.

Assuming 1ms servo loop and AC motor with 8 poles:

For 120rpm (2Hz mech. and 8Hz el. rotations), Linuxcnc changes 125 times value of each A,B,C phase within one electrical revolution.
For 3000rpm (50Hz and 200Hz) , its only 5 times!

First of all, please correct me if I am wrong.
Since I am not experienced with AC servo control, I am not sure what minimal granularity of phase revolution control is satisfactory for sinusoidal commutation.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Feb 2013 09:18 - 26 Feb 2013 09:58 #30588 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic 3pwmgen or 8i20 control loop
Yes, you cannot do software commutation for higher speed motors very well
at 1 KHz servo thread. About 4 KHz (so 18 degree steps) is fine for most servos
however. This does meant that a 7I43 is not a good choice for software commutation
(except for lower speed and linear motors) as its access time limits use at
high servo thread rates.

I should note that 18 degree steps will result in less than 5% torque ripple
(and there are some simple tricks with BLDC to reduce this to less than 1.5%)
For a torque control loop (like 8I20 control), 4KHz is almost a requirement.

In the next version of 8I20 firmware (as a standard sserial device)
it will have a velocity parameter so the commutation is extrapolated
Last edit: 26 Feb 2013 09:58 by PCW.

More
04 Aug 2014 04:52 #49469 by akb1212
This is an old thread, I know. But I'd be really interested in knowing how this development have gone?

And I would be even more interested in knowing if it's only a firmware update that will be needed for this change to be done to my 8i20. Meaning I can use the one I bought a few years back, or if new hardware is needed.