5i25/7i77 config - servos won't jog

More
27 May 2014 06:24 #47371 by green751
Hi, all;

I've been re-working my servo system for a few months using different drives and my new control PC. I'm doing this on a Lagunmatic mill with Ubuntu 10.04 installed from the live CD downloaded from here. Control PC is a GA-E350N with a Mesa 5i25/7i77 combo kit installed. Drives are Aerotech BA20 set up in torque mode using +/- 10V command input (differential).

I'm having some difficulty getting the axes to move in linuxcnc. I've been working on getting the current git master to run, but I've also checked this in 2.5.4 and get the same behavior.

I have them working (and going correct directions) in open loop test in pncconf. I also see feedback from the encoders in the same test, and when I manually move the axes in Linuxcnc I see the encoder counts increase/decrease appropriately. The wiring seems ok, encoders return counts, and the axes are where I think they are.

When I try to start up linuxcnc and jog, the axis I'm trying doesn't move (tried all 3). I just get a following error.

I went through and checked the HAL setup in the running config and it looked ok, everything seems to be connected. I'll attach a zip file (renamed to .bin) with a simple test config (only servo control and home switches included) in case anyone has time to look it over.

One thing I did notice is that in the open loop test I could select the lower value for "slow" movement and get little/no motion one direction and none the other. If I upped the value from the default 0.5 to 0.9 or so it started to move when commanded. The "fast" value always worked.

I suspect this means that the mesa cards are outputting a voltage for jog movement in linuxcnc that's too small to move the axis, IE the drives correctly output a proportional current but the torque produced isn't enough to actually move anything. I did check the trim pots on the drives and they're set to max scale, full -/+ 10 volts.