New user (hopefully) control questions/decisions

More
18 Sep 2015 13:26 #62738 by RNCTX
Hi guys, I am completely new to CNC, but not Linux/Unix.

What I have, which is why I'm posting in this forum first, is a Sieg KX3 that I've bought from a local gunsmith who was using it to make holsters, and decided to upgrade to a bigger unit. He had replaced the the controller with a Warp9 ethernet controller, and the original controller isn't present, so given the choice between throwing my wallet and self respect to Mach or getting rid of the controller, the Warp9 controller will look nice on eBay.

This is a 3 axis machine, with a 4th un-used controller should I ever want to add a lathe attachment I suppose.

From reading around here, it looks like the Mesa boards are the preferable route to take with LinuxCNC, I see the 5i25 mentioned alot, or there is apparently a new PCI-E version, the 6i25. Is there any benefit to the PCI-E interface/version? The bus is obviously faster but I don't know if that's an issue here...

Or, considering I'm completely new at this, would I be better off getting a replacement for the original controller and starting from scratch there, in your humble opinions?

I'm reading the wiki bit by bit but not finding an obvious place to start here, thanks for any guidance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Sep 2015 14:36 #62739 by Rick G
Hello,

If you have not already take a look here...
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/getting-started/

To start run a latency test on the computer you wish to use to see if it is capable of adequate software step generation.
Look at your drivers and check what micro stepping is available, gearing , etc. and run the stepconf wizard to get a good idea.
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/getting-start...configuration_wizard

Does the computer have a parallel port?
If you opt for the fourth axis will 1 parallel port be adequate for all the steppers, home limits etc.?

Rick G