THC CAD FOR PLASMA CUTTING

More
26 Apr 2016 12:09 #73894 by CNCLINUXSREE
Hii,
I have designed a CNC Plasma cutting machine with Linux EMC2 as the CNC software. I hae purchased the Mesa cards, 5i25 and 7i77 boards. My question here is shule I also buy the THCCAD boards for the Torch height control.
I have an ESAB Cutmaster 100 series Plasma cutter with an automation kit included. Meaning that the divided torch voltage will be available fro this pre installed board from Esab. This divided voltage would be in the range of anolog 0- 10 volts.
In such a scenario can i input this voltage to the relevant pin in the 7i77 and use this to control the torch height. Please let me have your suggestion, because I want to finish this project asap and do not have the time to order and buy the THC CAD card from Mesa.
Kindly explain if this is possible

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Apr 2016 12:19 - 26 Apr 2016 12:21 #73895 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic THC CAD FOR PLASMA CUTTING
Yes you need the THCAD-10 card and I ship every day from my store .

JT
Last edit: 26 Apr 2016 12:21 by BigJohnT.

More
26 Apr 2016 13:51 #73904 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic THC CAD FOR PLASMA CUTTING

I have an ESAB Cutmaster 100 series Plasma cutter with an automation kit included. Meaning that the divided torch voltage will be available fro this pre installed board from Esab. This divided voltage would be in the range of anolog 0- 10 volts.
In such a scenario can i input this voltage to the relevant pin in the 7i77 and use this to control the torch height.

In theory, yes. The 7i77 has analogue voltage measurement on the inputs, but they may not be accurate enough:

From the manual:
"ANALOG INPUTS
All field input pins are capable of reading the input voltage. These are not highly
accurate or high resolution but can be useful for things like potentiometer inputs. Input
resolution is 8 bits and input full scale value is 36.3V. Accuracy is +-5%"