7i76E - Ethernet version, questions.

More
29 Aug 2016 22:22 #79696 by Moronicsmurf
I'm fairly new to this linuxcnc shenanigans other than tried driving stuff off an old computer with parallell port i haven't dug into this much more.

And a friend of mine told me if i wanted to get more stuff going i should look into mesa cards. So that i did.
And boy are they confusing.

I figured out i would need something like a 7i80DB-16 - but then i noticed there were this 7i76E card for steppers.
But, would that need the 7i80DB card at all or would it be driven "solo" by itself occupying the ethernet port?
Because im guessing running the cards through like say a Switch would not be somewhat quirky or?

Hope somebody can clear this up Would be nice to be able to run ethernet based stuff instead, and shrinking the total footprint from a large box besides the machine to something more manageable. =)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Aug 2016 22:52 #79697 by PCW
The 7I76E includes the FPGA so is a stand-alone, Ethernet connected I/O
device for LinuxCNC

More
30 Aug 2016 00:00 #79698 by andypugh
The 7i76E connects to Ethernet, as does the 7i80, so they are alternatives.

For simple the 5i25 + 7i76 is most common and conventional. The Ethernet cards only work with the "uspace" version of LinuxCNC (ie, as far as I know, not with a LiveCD installation). You can, after the install, get uspace as a package from the manager, I have been told.

More
30 Aug 2016 07:04 #79704 by Moronicsmurf
Ah yes a PCI card would be the easier solution but i don't really got any room for it, and planning to move to a uhm, Beaglebone i think they are called. making the whole solution a bit more compact crammed into a smaller box.