Need help connecting an Omron Driver to a Parport

More
28 Dec 2017 08:26 #103782 by harishmshenoy
Please be patient with me since I have no experience with any electronic systems.
I am more than willing to learn, but due to y inexperience, I need soeone to guide me with this,

I have a servo and it's driver (Omron make, the driver has a model number of R88D-GT08H) lying around at work.
I want to learn how Linux CNC works, and I feel the components I have lying around could help me achieve my purpose.
Now, I don't understand how to connect the input cable from the driver to the PC. I know that this is to be done through a parallel port or a PCI slot.
I have found the manual of the driver, I think it has the schematics of the cable img.motortong.com/upload/resource/201609...3267e75.pdf#page=232
But, how do I connect the cable and the port?
I am attaching the photo of the cable from the driver.
Currently we were using some kind of board(Green coloured board in the photos) to attach it to the PLC, but can I use a similar setup to connect it to the PC?
Can someone please provide me with directions to proceed further?

Thank you!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Dec 2017 12:04 #103788 by BigJohnT
Look in 5-1 Position control. That driver takes cw/ccw pulses for position control. You would need to use stepgen type 1 up/down step generation. linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/man/man9/stepgen.9.html You could create a stepper configuration with the Stepconf Wizard then modify it for type 1 step generation.

JT
The following user(s) said Thank You: harishmshenoy

More
28 Dec 2017 16:58 #103798 by jmelson