closed loop servo cnc encoder interface with linuxcnc

More
07 Jan 2018 00:55 - 07 Jan 2018 00:56 #104094 by gui3333
hi guys,

I'm new to linuxcnc and I´m building my own closed loop servo cnc machine and intend to run it with linux cnc I'm doing it on the cheap and as a hobby project for now, so I do not intend to buy any mesa boards and want to make my self a simple breakout board. Any way i have been reading about de encoders and there interaction with the pc and linuxcnc and saw in the wiki that the direct reading of the encoders by linux can force the machine to run slower to keep up with the readings and that is better to use some kind of interface in between pc and encoder.

Can any of you tell me what kind of interface is expected to be used, to run it better and faster?
Last edit: 07 Jan 2018 00:56 by gui3333.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2018 01:40 #104096 by jmelson

hi guys,

I'm new to linuxcnc and I´m building my own closed loop servo cnc machine and intend to run it with linux cnc I'm doing it on the cheap and as a hobby project for now, so I do not intend to buy any mesa boards and want to make my self a simple breakout board. Any way i have been reading about de encoders and there interaction with the pc and linuxcnc and saw in the wiki that the direct reading of the encoders by linux can force the machine to run slower to keep up with the readings and that is better to use some kind of interface in between pc and encoder.

Can any of you tell me what kind of interface is expected to be used, to run it better and faster?