Quick Mesa connection question...

More
22 Apr 2018 02:40 #109417 by Lcvette
Hey guys,

Very close to getting things run on my machine but before I start pulling wires I wanted to ask about flyback diodes for use with relays on the outputs of the Mesa 7i76/7 cards, are they needed? If so, can anyone link to what exactly I would need to use? I've never used a flyback diode before, not sure if there's a certain type required for the board if they are needed.

Below is the schematic I made for wiring everything on the machine, I if you guys have a minute to run eyes over it and make sure I'm not goofing anywhere obvious it would be much appreciated!

Thanks guys!!

Chris

This browser does not support PDFs. Please download the PDF to view it: Download PDF

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Apr 2018 06:54 #109420 by rodw
Yes, I've seen PCW mention this. The band on the diode should point towards the output on the board.

Any diode would pretty much do as long as it can handle 24 volts or whatever field power you are using.

More
22 Apr 2018 16:47 #109434 by tommylight
Do use the diodes always, even if you have low current relays.
As soon as someone switches one of them on and off fast, the output will fail for sure.
Use them as Rod explained, solder them to the relay contacts or terminals.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Lcvette

More
22 Apr 2018 17:05 - 22 Apr 2018 17:14 #109437 by Lcvette

As soon as someone switches one of them on and off fast, the output will fail for sure.