Are smart motors compatible with parallel port straight connections?

More
12 Aug 2021 15:26 #217619 by FredCailloux
I am new to CNC. Planning my first build. Lots of reading done. I'm going LinuxCNC.
I found these two companies offering smart brushless Servo motor driven with step/direction signal.
StepperOnLine .   Teknic inc Clearpath
These motors need very little current input for control, inputs are optoisolated, and the Teknic motor is quite affordable ( $100ish )
From what I understand LinuxCNC will supply step/direction straight from the parallel port of the computer.
So, it is my understanding that the motor solutions proposed above is the only hardware I will need to get them running.
No other interfaces required other than a good power supply for my motors and a computer. ( obviously ) 
The rest is kitchenstuff ( enclosure, limit switches, relays,  LEDs, bla bla bla ) .

Is my assumption correct or Am I dilusional ? 
Thanks for your valuable comments.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Aug 2021 15:57 #217622 by tommylight
You are correct, any step/dir controled drive/motor combo will work with parallel port, even some PWM controled ones work, granted at low speeds due to limited pulse frequency a parallel port can read.
There are several examples of PWM drives and servo motors running from parallel port, some by me using cheap arduino DC motor drives, search youtube for toma berisha or toma cnc.
As for step/dir ones there are plenty of examples, just keep in mind that parallel port can be limited in speed but that depends on what exactly you want to run.
The following user(s) said Thank You: FredCailloux

More
12 Aug 2021 19:22 #217625 by FredCailloux
Thanks for this confirmation. Now I have to find out what could be a typical Parallel Printer maximum output frequency range. This will let me figure out what my maximum step rate could be for a motor.

Any suggestions as to where I can find that information ?

More