Retrofitting - An overview for begginers

More
05 May 2012 16:50 - 05 May 2012 16:53 #19841 by noelwarr
CONTEXT
My name is Noel. Carpenter by trade, I've been using a Busellato 3006 for 9 months, programming enthusiast. Ruby rocks! B) FYI I have developped a Sketchup plugin that alows you to define holes and toolpaths and generates gcode ( code.google.com/p/minivistii/ ). When we bought the machine we were (wrongfully) obsessed with changing the computer or at least being ready if something were to happen to it. This worry stems from the fact we knew other people in the trade had been left stranded when their controller died on them and were quoted thousands of euros to get them replaced. I am now starting to understand how CNC's work and that it's not as simple as just plugging in a new PC

CURRENT UNDERSTANDING
It might be a gross over simplification or just plain wrong but I would say that all CNC's work as follows
Computer(of sorts) ---> Driver ---> Stepper motor
You need the right driver for the right stepper motor. That much is clear. Hooking the computer up to the driver depends on the driver. In the best case scenario you can wire it up with your parallel port (If it takes +-10v I believe). In the worst case scenario the driver will be digital, proprietary and its manufacturer will have gone out of business.

BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY
I'm thinking of getting into retrofitting. I'm not asking for business advice so if you think you have something to offer in that direction, go invest in shares or something :P . There seems to be very little awareness that this can actually be done (at least in my country) so reparing/replacing CNC computers often proves astronomically expensive. I think we can do better.

RETROFITTING APPROACH