Retrofit an Emco Compact 6P-CNC

More
29 Apr 2013 15:37 - 29 Apr 2013 15:37 #33375 by smprobban
Hi all!

I finally found an old

this isnt my machine :)

And now what i want to know is what do i need to retrofit this machine?
As an total noob all help is appricated. If you need to know something else pls tell me.
Last edit: 29 Apr 2013 15:37 by smprobban.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Apr 2013 04:34 #33409 by emcPT
The most important, in my opinion, is to know the type of motors and drives that the machine currently have so that you would have an idea if you could re-use them. This would play an important role on the money that you will need to expend.
The type of motor that makes the spindle rotate is also important to know in the first stage.

More
30 Apr 2013 13:43 - 30 Apr 2013 13:44 #33425 by smprobban
What i really want to know is if we say that we replace all the old stuff (i havent got the machine yet but my boss wants to know how much it can be in maximum expenses to fix it)
So if i replace the old stuff can somone link too stuff that i would need?
new motors and so on. I am such a noob iit will be hard i just want to know what can be an maximum cost.
Last edit: 30 Apr 2013 13:44 by smprobban.

More
30 Apr 2013 19:41 #33435 by BigJohnT
Is it a stepper or servo machine?

John

More
30 Apr 2013 19:49 #33436 by andypugh

What i really want to know is if we say that we replace all the old stuff (i havent got the machine yet but my boss wants to know how much it can be in maximum expenses to fix it).

I am sure you could spend many thousands, if you wanted to.
This looks like a very useful site for you:
emcocncretrofits.wikia.com/wiki/120_Family

The original motors are 5-phase steppers. I would suggest keeping those, and the original drives.
Alternatively, you could swap to servos all-round.