upgrading PUMA 762 arm

More
08 May 2013 09:32 #33751 by btvpimill
I am going to convert a PUMA 762 arm to linuxCNC. This will be a slow process and I am not too good at build logs. But I will try and provide information as I go as well as ask for LOTS of help.

To start the ball rolling, there are 6 joints as you can prolly imagine. I already have 2 questions about this-

1) each joint has an encoder and a pot. From what I can tell, the pots are for a rough absolute position so it can home in 1 rev of the encoder. Will there be a way to support this?

2) All 6 joints are rotary, so any ideas what "axis" will need to be assigned? can I call XYZ or UVW angular instead of linear?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 May 2013 19:20 #34128 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic upgrading PUMA 762 arm

1) each joint has an encoder and a pot. From what I can tell, the pots are for a rough absolute position so it can home in 1 rev of the encoder. Will there be a way to support this?

That sounds like a bit of a challenge, a challenge in two parts. First you have to get the analogue voltage into LinuxCNC, and then you have to get LinuxCNC to understand what to do with it.
You can probably use the Arduino comp as a relatively easy way to read the 6 analogue voltages, though there is a dedicated Mesa analogue input board too. Some Mesa cards have analogue input configurable on certain pins too, though I don't think that any have 6 inputs.