Converting a CNC knee mill to LinuxCNC

More
11 May 2014 21:47 #46816 by btmcad
I have a SuperMax cnc knee mill (3 axis) with an Anilam Crusader M control that is no longer functioning.
I'm beginning to research some different methods for getting this machine running again. It will be used in my small machine shop, on a near daily basis. I have other CNC machines and a lot of CAD / CAM experience along with some electronics and PLC experience, but I have never done a CNC conversion like this before. I'm looking for some guidance on the best path to take for this conversion.
I've done some reading on cnc zone and this site on similar conversions, so I'm a little familiar with the process. However, I definitely need some help with the fine details.

Here's a few details about the machine and items that I want or need to achieve as parts of the conversion:
1. I would like to retain some of the original components such as the power supplies and servo drives to keep cost down. The controller has Westamp servo drives. However, I would like to eventually upgrade these drives to something better / newer as money permits.
2. I would like to eliminate the current card cage with all of the circuit boards, as this is where the current problem is occurring that is preventing the controller from booting up.
3. This machine uses glass scales instead of a rotary encoder. I believe I'll need to eliminate these as well, but not sure.
4. This machine has a Speed-Rite spindle motor conversion, which consists of a Baldor Super E motor, Baldor VFD, and a control panel that is mounted to the head of the machine. All of the original mechanical variable speed parts have been eliminated from the head and replaced with two v-belt pulleys that were part of the Speed-Rite kit. I would like my new controller to have the ability to control the spindle speed through this Speed-Rite VFD conversion.