Another Elumatec SBZ130

More
06 Dec 2020 15:42 - 06 Dec 2020 15:51 #191222 by Benno
Hello,
my name is Benno, I'm new to the LinuxCnc-World. I want to try, to rebuild the project of tommylight. Elumatec SBZ130/01
Now I want to order the hardware but I can't get a 7I71, my question is, can I use 7I66-24 instead of this? I know it has half outputs but it should be enough. Do I need another bit file? I think, I can save up the extra relays.
tommylight wrote:

Will have to add a bunch of small relays as the brakes draw 0.68A and the 7i71 can deliver 0.3A per output, no big deal at all just more wires. That would take care of the field power having 28.6V and 7i71 has 5 to 28V outputs and i do not like pushing electronics to it's limits, much safer this way.

Is it just a "little" change in the hal files?

I'm happy about any suggestion and I hope you understand my english :-)
Last edit: 06 Dec 2020 15:51 by Benno.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Dec 2020 16:37 #191232 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Another Elumatec SBZ130

Now I want to order the hardware but I can't get a 7I71, my question is, can I use 7I66-24 instead of this? I know it has half outputs but it should be enough. Do I need another bit file? I think, I can save up the extra relays.
tommylight wrote:

Will have to add a bunch of small relays as the brakes draw 0.68A and the 7i71 can deliver 0.3A per output, no big deal at all just more wires. That would take care of the field power having 28.6V and 7i71 has 5 to 28V outputs and i do not like pushing electronics to it's limits, much safer this way.

Is it just a "little" change in the hal files?