PM940CNC

More
24 Jul 2021 00:10 #215722 by ralyks91
PM940CNC was created by ralyks91
Bought a PM940 CNC a couple years and have been slowly getting it working. Didn't bother with mach3 and went straight to linux cnc. I've made a good bit of progress from reading others who have converted there 940 over to linux and following tutorials on this forum but running into some issues as I'm really new to linux and with all the wires in the machine  . Been a machinist for over 10 years just never messed with the insides of the machines. Probably bit off more then I can chew but I'm patient and willing to learn just need some help. so far i have linux installed on and old dell xps 420 and have it connected to a mesa 7i76e board. I've got the pc and board talking together, currently working on getting the spindle to function. The vfd is a delta(model:VFD015E21A) i found the basic configurations on the forum but still not sure what to do lol. I believe it needs to be setup as an analog signal. Have been using this guys stuff as reference and a rough guide:  My PM-940 CNC Modifications | Page 3 | The Hobby-Machinist
Any help would be fantastic thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jul 2021 10:11 #215757 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic PM940CNC
Have you gone through the parameters in the drive to check what the current settings are?

Note that you won't be able to change anything unless 00.02 = 0

Assuming that the VFD is already set up for the spindle (?) then it looks like you just need to set 02.00 = 1 to enable 0-10V control.

You shuld test the voltage between 7i76 pins TB4-1 and TB4-3 (should be 10V, from the VVD) and then check that changing the spindle speed in LinuxCNC causes the voltage between pin TB4-1 and TB4-2 to change.
If it doesn't then the problem is in the LinuxCNC config.