BobsCNC

More
02 Dec 2021 13:04 - 02 Dec 2021 21:49 #228184 by pneurd
BobsCNC was created by pneurd
Hi All,

Does anyone have experience running a BobsCNC router working with LinuxCNC?  Just starting out, I still have a lot to learn to make it all the way up to noob. Before posting,  I searched "BobsCNC" on this forum but got no results.  I'm a hobbyist looking for a good combination of a CNC router running Linux-based, free and open-source software, to make signs, and 3d objects out of wood, not metal.  

Thanks!
Last edit: 02 Dec 2021 21:49 by pneurd.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Dec 2021 13:30 #228186 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic BobsCNC
Do you mean using BobCAD with LinuxCNC?

More
02 Dec 2021 15:27 #228194 by pneurd
Replied by pneurd on topic BobsCNC
Thanks for the reply. I'm referring to a CNC product I've read review about. Here's the Amazon link:.

BobsCNC Evolution 3 CNC Router Kit with the Router Included (16" x 18" cutting area and 3.3" Z travel) www.amazon.com/dp/B01M7VBAQN/ref=cm_sw_r...MSXPCBMNS9YFS263S32B

The description says "Designed to use GRBL1.1 firmware on the Arduino Uno with repeatability of 0.002” to 0.004”."

Was wondering if anyone has tried using LinuxCAD instead of GRBL 1.1 on the Arduino Uno.

Thanks again.

More
02 Dec 2021 15:48 #228195 by Aaroncnc
Replied by Aaroncnc on topic BobsCNC
That machine is using belts for the x and y.....
I would cast doubt on the cutting accuracy alone.
It may be able to get that when no cutting forces are put on the system but the second it digs into a cut those belts will have a bit of stretch
I think you have too many terms messed up.

To use Linuxcnc the forum you are on would require you to replace the Arduino based control system.

Why do you want to switch away from GRBL?

What is your goal with this project?

What are you trying to make/cut?

More
02 Dec 2021 15:52 #228196 by andypugh