Vevor CNC3040 -- USB only, what now?

More
10 Feb 2022 04:46 #234459 by ClutchCargo
Hi Folks,

I received a Vevor CNC3040 as a Christmas present and while I'm completely new to LinuxCNC (and hobby CNC) I do have an EE/realtime software background and worked in research robotics back in the 90s (not that it's a big help ATM).

Sadly, my machine has only a USB interface which I've only just realized won't fly with LinuxCNC -- should've gotten a unit with a parallel port. Oh well!

Wondering what my options are?

I cracked open the case and took a photo of the control board -- there's an unpopulated 10-pin (2x5) header that looks more like a serial port than a parallel port, so that doesn't give me a lot of hope. Will I have to chuck the control board that came with it, and if so, what to replace it with?

Thanks in advance for any guidance!

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Feb 2022 15:01 #234487 by tommylight
Short of yanking out the micro controller and soldering a lot of wires, there is nothing you can do.
Did you check what the small header near the micro does ? It is to small to have everything, but maybe has at least something useful.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ClutchCargo

More
10 Feb 2022 16:30 - 10 Feb 2022 16:44 #234490 by Aciera
Looking at the placement of that 10pin header I'd put my money on it being the JTAG interface used to flash the microcontroller.
As for options:
Cheapest solution would be one of those chinese breakout boards together with a pc parallel port:
www.aliexpress.com/item/4000271515828.html?gatewayAdapt=glo2deu
Or use mesa board for PCI or ethernet interface.

[edit]
And of course you would also need stepper drivers for either of those. But as you have an EE background you might be able to feed the parallel port signals into that stepper driver on your controller board.

[edit2]
Also I noticed that those controller boards are easily available for parallel port: