cheap and easy hardware for a student

More
20 Nov 2010 22:36 #5476 by michaelpollak
hy all.

i'm new to this community, at least i did never write but read a lot. it's amazing how much great information you put out there, and i hope i can be a part of it soon.
my name is michael, i'm a student from vienna|austria, you can find more info about me on my website and my blog .

i looked into the topic of building my own very cheap X-Y-table to find a cheap entrypoint in this huge cnc-world. but after A LOT of testing and trial and error, with stepper motors, old floppy drives and RC-Servos i'm pretty much at the point where i just want something that works.
i'm willing to do a lot of diy work and really like this stuff, but i just can't see process - if i continue at this pace i'll never get a working machine.

so i decided i want to spend some money on the hardware - spend more time working with the machine than working on the machine.

i really want to start slow, as a student i dont have a big amount of cash available. so i'm looking for a 2D x-y-table, where i can start to plot things, get to know the system and learn the basics. in the next step i really would love to be able to engrave sth., maybe with a dremel-tool or a router - so if possible the machine should be extendable by myself.
i don't have a problem with building my own machine too, but i need a good kit (at least for the electronics), that is compatible with emc2, to get it running.
i would really like to hear your opinions, any help will be highly appreciated.
    compatible to emc2
    >= 2 axis
    affordable (<500€ if possible...)
    extendable (by myself, with available tools and material if possible)
    available (imports from china are not really my thing)

thank you for your answers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Nov 2010 09:46 #5481 by eslavko
Hello...

You should check www.cnczone.com as there are many finished machines with photos in steps.