building cnc for glass cutting

More
17 Jan 2011 06:31 #6737 by sherif.taher
Hi, I'm quite new to building CNC machines and don't have much experience with the hardware available out there

I want to build a CNC setup to cut glass, I saw some examples on youtube that seem to work well scoring glass (
). I've done research around and found out some useful tips, I decided to build the setup using zen toolworks 7"x7" DIY kit,

I believe I need at least 4 axis control, x,y,z and a rotary axis to swivel the glass cutter tangentially to the direction of cutting. Can someone recommend suitable driver cards and stepper motors that have worked well with EMC before, I'm looking something basic and cheap

Can the swivel motor be the same as the x,y,z steppers ?

thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jan 2011 12:13 #6741 by Rick G

More
17 Jan 2011 12:36 - 17 Jan 2011 12:39 #6742 by BigJohnT
It looks like the zen comes with some nema 17 motors. I used Gecko 203v drives on my plasma. I think the 203v's are over kill for such a tiny thing so you might look at the G251 or G540.

www.geckodrive.com/product.aspx?c=3&i=14469

For the C axis you will need some kind of gear box to take the thrust loads and gear down the stepper. Steppers are not rated for any loads on the shaft other than torque. You might inquire on the zen forum if owners of the zen think it would take the thrust loads of cutting glass... I cut a piece of glass once and as I recall it takes some force but that was a long time ago...

John
Last edit: 17 Jan 2011 12:39 by BigJohnT. Reason: opps the pico is not a drive

More
19 Jan 2011 06:58 #6769 by sherif.taher
Hi guys, thank you very much for the quick reply, I found the following bit

www.widgetworksunlimited.com/CNC_Diamond...p/cnc-dmnd_engrv.htm