Recommended CAD-CAM route

More
28 Sep 2015 17:27 #63126 by Micromet
As a complete newbie, is there a recommended CAD-CAM route for beginners to Linuxcnc and CNC in general. There are many possible open-source option paths in both the CAD and CAM camps. And as a long-term free software advocate and user, I know this request may generate many personally championed recommendations. But I have an enormous amount to learn and a simple road-map from design to manufacture would be very useful. I'm only interested in 3-axis 2.5D production and may even limit myself to 2D engraving in the first instance. I'm capable with GIMP, Inkscape, Dia, QCad and have past professional experience with code writing from Assembler to Object-Orientated programming.
But any recommendation needs to have as a priority the ability to go from CAD to CAM to Linuxcnc with the minimum of glitches. If things go wrong - I need to know it's what I have done wrong rather than a foible of the software. If this means in the first instance, very simple solutions with limited capability or options then fine - I can explore and become familiar with the whole process and then move into more sophisticated options as I progress.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Sep 2015 17:42 - 28 Sep 2015 17:50 #63128 by Rick G
Replied by Rick G on topic Recommended CAD-CAM route
Have you looked here...
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Cam
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/index.html

For simple 2 / 2.5 work you might want to look at Ace Converter.

Rick G
Last edit: 28 Sep 2015 17:50 by Rick G.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Micromet

More
28 Sep 2015 18:51 #63135 by Micromet
Replied by Micromet on topic Recommended CAD-CAM route