CNC Router Rebuild

More
08 Feb 2014 11:01 #43633 by johndavi
CNC Router Rebuild was created by johndavi
When it comes to CNC I am a Noob. I am extremely fluent in Linux especially Ubuntu/Debian. We have a CNC Router that the manufacturer's support is less than adequate. I shared LinuxCNC as a possible solution to my superiors. I have been asked to gather information on the cost and a list of parts that I would need.

This is a fairly simple 3 axis CNC Router

The original manufacture is ATD accuratetoolsonline.com/router.html

The original manufacture for the controller and PC is actek www.actekinc.com/

My goal is to replace the failed controller with hardware easily supported by LinuxCNC and replace the PC with a non propitiatory system I can support and maintain. With a user interface that only allows the standard user to run programs and editing of programs by admins only.

The programs also are fairly very simple. A straight route about 2 inches and a half circle cut about 2 ½ inches.

I have a copy of the G Codes and I have been in charge of maintaining and editing them as needed.

I apologize but I could use good simple 101 for dummies like help for planning and setting up the hardware that will work with LinuxCNC to operate the router.

Thank in advance for any and all the help / assistance from the users of this forum.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Feb 2014 19:17 #43639 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic CNC Router Rebuild
The first thing to determine is if the servo drives are ok and what drives them. If they take a velocity input +-10vdc and you have encoder feedback that is the simplest hardware to convert. Do you have a photo of the drives?

Most low power PC's will do fine, I like using Mesa 5i25/7i77 combo for servo machines. Being a Linux guru can be a problem sometimes LOL as you "know" how to do things in Linux. To determine if a PC is a good candidate run the live CD and do the jitter test.

JT

More