Axis Jitter with Spindle On

More
08 Aug 2014 22:12 #49602 by jmativi
Hi everyone!
This seemed like the correct place for this post. I apologize if it is not.
I am a bit new to LinuxCNC, but I have some experience with machining in general, programming, and computers/circuits.
Here is my setup: MicroProto MicroMill 2000 with stepper motors and original driver. Previously, Windows XP with Mach 3 was used to run this machine with no problems. I am trying to run the machine with the latest Linux CNC on a Dell Optiplex 780. I am able to move all 3 axes with no problem using the jog feature of LinuxCNC. If I execute a program without the spindle running, everything works fine. However, as soon as I turn on my spindle motor, with the "machine power" on (amplifier enable high, I assume) all 3 axes start to jitter in whatever direction they were previously moving. I can still jog under these conditions. The spindle motor is completely isolated from the stepper driver. It's on its very own outlet, its own controller/RPM readout, and its own power switch. The only signals configured to go over the parallel port are Amp Enable, and Step/Direction for each of my 3 axes. Everything else is set to "Not used".

Does anyone have any idea what is going on? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Mativi

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Aug 2014 00:37 #49607 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Axis Jitter with Spindle On
Sounds like electrical noise from your spindle is getting into the step signals at some point

Sometimes a line filter on the VFD can help as can making sure the step/direction signals
are wired away from spindle or AC power wiring.

More
09 Aug 2014 03:43 #49610 by jmativi
Replied by jmativi on topic Axis Jitter with Spindle On
PCW,