Problem with home/limit configuration

More
26 Mar 2015 16:22 - 26 Mar 2015 16:23 #57203 by Vinci
Hello there

I'm new to linux CNC and currently trying to get the home/limit configuration of my switches right. My setup consists of 2x inductive switches per axis one of which I'd like to use for homing (preferably the lower ones for the X and Y axis and the higher one for the Z axis). At first I was under the impression that the configuration worked right out of the wizard, but every time I try to home an axis I get a limit error as well.

So I started reading the documentation on home/limit switches and went on with editing the parameters HOME, HOME_OFFSET and the sign of HOME_LATCH_VEL. An old forum entry suggested, that HOME and HOME_OFFSET can't be the same value if the same switch is used for homing and limiting, but it didn't really matter what I changed... the error still comes up.

Out of desperation I even added a debounce function to the inputs, just in case... of course that didn't help either.

For the sake of simplicity here is the .ini and .hal code of my Z-axis configuration:

ini
[AXIS_2]
TYPE = LINEAR
HOME = 0.0
MAX_VELOCITY = 7.0
MAX_ACCELERATION = 250.0
STEPGEN_MAXACCEL = 312.5
SCALE = 960.0
FERROR = 1
MIN_FERROR = .25
MIN_LIMIT = -100.0
MAX_LIMIT = 5.000
HOME_OFFSET = 3.000000
HOME_SEARCH_VEL = 1.500000
HOME_LATCH_VEL =  -0.520833
HOME_IGNORE_LIMITS = YES
HOME_SEQUENCE = 0

hal
# add debounce component
loadrt debounce cfg=3
# set delay (number of iterations of base thread)
setp debounce.0.delay 2000
# add debounce to base-thread
addf debounce.0 base-thread

# put debounce between parport input pins and min/max home signals
net min-z <= parport.1.pin-06-in
net debounce-max-home-z debounce.0.2.in <= parport.1.pin-07-in

# assign net to axis
net min-z => axis.2.neg-lim-sw-in
net debounce-max-home-z => axis.2.home-sw-in
net debounce-max-home-z => axis.2.pos-lim-sw-in

Any ideas?

- one desperate user...
Last edit: 26 Mar 2015 16:23 by Vinci.