can linuxcnc use easson dro for feedback?

More
06 Jul 2015 08:37 #60458 by vk7krj
Hi, I have been reading the mail for a while but this is my first post on the forum.

I am trying to decide whether to use steppers or servo's on my mill when I put ball screws on later this year, so I would like to know if linuxcnc can use the signals from the easson dro as position feedback? It would seem a shame to have very accurate position information there and not use it.

If it can then I would guess servo's would be the way to go, but being a complete novice at this, I need all the advice I can get. Price is a big consideration- being retired, there's not a lot of money to throw around- but there is a lot of time available!

I tried searching the forum, but came up blank- though I find it hard to believe that the word "easson" doesn't appear anywhere in nearly 60,000 posts?

Ken.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Jul 2015 15:38 #60462 by ArcEye
Hi

I tried searching the forum, but came up blank- though I find it hard to believe that the word "easson" doesn't appear anywhere in nearly 60,000 posts?

I had never heard of Easson before. Newall, Accurite, Mitutoyo etc but not them
However appears a lot of UK stockists now sell their scales and complete kits

The important thing to know about your Easson scales is that they are glass scales outputting a 5 volt TTL Quadrature signal

With that knowledge, there is a post of quite recently that should help you
www.linuxcnc.org/index.php/english/forum...cales?start=20#53438

regards
The following user(s) said Thank You: vk7krj

More
06 Jul 2015 17:27 - 06 Jul 2015 17:31 #60465 by cncbasher
yes you can they ( scales ) output quadrature , see attached pic , but beware i have known different pinouts
these are at least the common pinouts used

you may find other information that may be helpful here
www.yuriystoys.com/p/msp430-launchpad-quadrature-dro.html
Attachments: