Installing downloaded software

More
16 Jan 2016 03:44 #68513 by mstrick96
I am a Linux and linuxcnc newbie. Am getting familiar with both and plan to build a cnc router. Lots to learn!

I obtained an old Pentium4 computer and have successfully loaded Linux CNC 2.7 Debian wheezy on it. I am not so successfully trying to install other software such as TeamViewer software on this system. I can use Synaptic to install repository software but am unable to figure out how to install a downloaded .deb file.

How do I install a downloaded package onto this system? Have tried the Synaptic Package manager but can't sort out how to select the TeamViewer downloaded package.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jan 2016 10:56 #68519 by andypugh
The Synaptic GUI typically installs the software for you, rather than you having to download then manually install.
Similarly, at the command-line
sudo apt-get --install somepackage
will automatically download and install the package and it's dependencies.

If you have a .deb file then you need the command
sudo dpkg -i /path/to/deb.deb
The following user(s) said Thank You: mstrick96

More
16 Jan 2016 14:01 #68523 by mstrick96
Thanks, Andy,
That helps. I used the command line to find and attempt the install of my .deb file. It went through the steps but then failed due to a missing dependency. I'll try that again and will use the apt-get to find and install the dependency first.

I was successful with the Synaptic at installing packages that are in its repository. I couldn't find Team Viewer though. Is it possible to use Synaptic to install a downloaded .deb file?

More
16 Jan 2016 14:17 - 16 Jan 2016 14:18 #68524 by ArcEye
Team Viewer requires quite a few packages, albeit some should already exist

In a terminal run