LinuxCNC as 4th axis indexer controller

More
06 Apr 2016 12:12 #72843 by owen
I want to control my old Tormach 4th axis with my Haas super mini mill but I can't afford a $10,000 4th axis. My plan is to trigger the 4th axis from Mcodes on the Haas and have the 4th index for every trigger like a standalone indexer would then send a signal back to the Haas that the motion is complete. I would write a gcode program on the linux cnc controller that waits for the Mcode from the Haas then moves to it's next position and then send a confirmation signal. I'm new to linux CNC so I wanted to ask if this would be possible before I do further research in setting it up. Additionally I would want an encoder attached to the 4th axis table that would confirm it moved to the correct position. Anyone done something similar to this?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Apr 2016 12:57 #72846 by andypugh
This sounds more like a job for an Arduino. Especially if the Tormach 4th-axis is stepper-driven.

More
06 Apr 2016 14:24 #72849 by owen
I had thought about that but it seamed like it would be more complicated than setting up linuxcnc. I think it would take a long time to make the arduino controller have a user friendly interface for setting up an indexer job. To me the idea writing a simple gcode file with my angular moves sounds simpler.

More
06 Apr 2016 14:38 #72851 by andypugh

I think it would take a long time to make the arduino controller have a user friendly interface for setting up an indexer job. .

I was anticipating that there wouldn't need to be a GUI, as the Haas would do all the communication.

But, if the Haas can only send a pulse, it would be relatively easy to use a switch connected to Arduino GPIO to choose 45, 10, 5, 3, 2, 1 degree indexing intervals.

More
06 Apr 2016 14:49 #72854 by owen