Fanuc Drives

More
17 Jun 2016 15:18 #76225 by bouslamakar
Fanuc Drives was created by bouslamakar
Dear everyone,

I have just successfully operated small Yaskawa drives with linuxcnc after a non-negligible amout of work lol. This was just a test run for the real thing because the real thing is we want to retrofit old machines with FANUC drives both DC and AC (Fanuc 6M and Fanuc OM). I made a try on a Fanuc 6 drive for one of the axes but could not get it to run with signals from Linuxcnc and I still don't understand why.

Is there something fundamentally different between those old fanuc 6 drives and the more modern yaskawa DR2 ones? I used step/dir signals and even tried the PWM outmput of the spindle but no result.

Anyone knows how to interface those Fanuc drives with linuxcnc via parallel port?

With the Yaskawa drives I used Parallel port and it worked just fine after some settings in the drives.

I would be grateful for any help. I'm still new to linuxcnc but passionate about it ;)

In case anyone wants info about what I did with the small yaskawa drives, I'm happy to help.

Best regards,

Bouslama Karim from Tunisia.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jun 2016 15:27 #76227 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Fanuc Drives
I think running these drives from the parallel port, whilst possible, is misguided. :-)

You might want to look at some of the alternatives.

More
17 Jun 2016 16:44 #76229 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic Fanuc Drives