NEED HELP AND OPINONS ON CNCLINUX WITH CNC MACHINE

More
26 Jan 2017 19:37 #86733 by StephenCNC
Hello Fellow Members,
I am a computer engineering student in college. My professor/head of the engineering department wanted to give a project to me to work on for him. This isn't required for class. He makes parts as an entrepreneur. He is using a CNC machine with CNC Linux. He uses a jog wheel, after he uses the jog wheel he has to look back at the monitor to see what its doing. He asked me if i can make monitor using a Raspberry Pi using CNC Linux. He wants the Raspberry Pi to show what the jog wheel is doing on a screen(Raspberry Pi) that is duplicating and sending data to the monitor that he used before. If that isn't understandable the screen he has on the CNC machine is far from where he is using the jog wheel so he is wasting time walking to the monitor after every movement of the jog wheel. So he wants me to build a monitor using a Raspberry Pi and CNC Linux that shows what the jog wheel is doing right in front of him then sends the data to the monitor. What I thought of is having the Raspberry Pi duplicate the monitor? PLEASE HELP WITH OPINIONS OR IF SOMEONE HAS DONE THIS.
Thank You For Your Time Guys = )

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jan 2017 20:01 #86734 by tommylight
Does he need only the DRO shown or the whole screen?
Having dro can be done with arduino and a smal screen, would be convenient and useful.
Having the whole screen is not good as the signal lags a bit throuhh network. You can use VLC to connect remotely , using a android phone or tablet or laptop.
Or you can find a nice smal monitor and connect it directly to computer with a long cable, this is best as there is no lag at all, you only need a computer or graphic card with 2 monitor outputs.

More
26 Jan 2017 21:01 #86736 by Todd Zuercher
Does he know he can buy these for not a whole lot of money (less than $80)

More
26 Jan 2017 21:16 #86739 by bevins