Newbie question

More
22 Mar 2018 14:33 #107722 by schaet
Newbie question was created by schaet
Hello,
I am a total newbie here feeling my through. I tried running my first program and got the following error:
"Cannot feed with zero spindle speed in feed per rev mode"

Can anyone shed some light on this? I'm sure it's a simple setting I have wrong
Attached is my g-code

File Attachment:

File Name: Trijiconv4-2.nc.txt
File Size:42 KB

Thank you
Steven

My setup:
Sherline 5400 CNC
LinuxCNC
BobCAD/CAM with the Sherline post processor
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Mar 2018 15:13 - 22 Mar 2018 15:26 #107725 by DanMN
Replied by DanMN on topic Newbie question
I'm presuming you start your spindle manually, i.e., not via gcode -- since you only have M0 specified -- which is spindle stop. In essence, the you are instructing the machine to plunge cutter that isn't spinning. Obviously, in systems that have spindle control automated this would be a big no-no.

Try adding an M3 statement here:

(MSG, " Spindle Speed 1191")
(M0)
M3 S1 F1

Touch off your Z well above your table or workpiece for a dry run. Let the spindle cut some air while you observe the behavior and become comfortable with the new instructions. I always test creative new ideas with my hand on the e-stop button ;)

PS: I just modified and loaded your file, and you have other problems -- namely that line 11 command being a country mile long and obviously weird. I changed the Y value to 133 and it loaded, but with some expected problems with scale. It looks like you're cutting a postage stamp size object on a billiard table -- so, you've got some CAM setup issues to work out as well.
Last edit: 22 Mar 2018 15:26 by DanMN. Reason: Added observation..

More
22 Mar 2018 18:56 #107730 by schaet
Replied by schaet on topic Newbie question
DanMN,
Thanks for the info. I'll check it out when I get home tonight.