total beginner - run stepper motor at continuous speed to drive lathe leadscrew

More
05 May 2018 16:47 #110257 by Stormbird
Spring 2017 I planned to convert an Emcomat 20E lathe to CNC so I went and bought a Nema 34 stepper motor (wantai), a microstep driver (Wantai DQ860MA), a Mesa 7I67E controller, and downloaded successfully LinuxCNC. Actually the motivation for my embarking on this CNC project was that the original leadscrew stepper motor had been removed and the electronics had been known to be faulty, so I needed to at a minimum re-motorize the leadscrew anyway. Since then I have not made any further efforts YET. I am wondering, before trying to master CNC type programming, if there is a possibility of very simple programming just to use one of the motors to continuously drive the leadscrew (at variable speeds) so that I can get smoother finishes to cutting as one does with a regular manual lathe.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 May 2018 00:57 - 06 May 2018 01:00 #110266 by JohnnyCNC
If you don't mind doing a little electronic assembly you can use a Arduino or SparkFun Pro Micro to build a controller which is basically just a pulse generator that will send the step pulses to your stepper driver. Before I CNC'd my mill I build a power feed for it using a SparkFun Pro Micro. You can program the Pro Micro board using the Python language. It's pretty simple and easy to learn. I built a pendant style handheld control that had adjustable speed control that worked with two buttons (left and right) for the X axis. I also had two buttons for rapid movement. It was a fun project and very educational but it didn't last long because after just a short time I went full CNC. The main reason I wanted to CNC my mill was so that I could make things that are impossible to do by had. I never felt the desire to CNC my lathe but would at least like to have a power feed on my late for the same reason hs you. Better finish.