Lathe w/Gang Tooling, tool change?

More
07 Mar 2019 14:55 #127980 by matt_mcd
Hello

I'm new to gcode etc but have been around CAD/CAM a long time. I'm "fooling" around with learning gcode and making some small parts...
I have set up a lathe with a 3 gang tool post and have my program working fine.. I have done some searches on here and haven't found what I'm looking for other than maybe a clue of some kind of subroutine I may need.

But - my question is - I want to advance past the manual input of hitting "OK" on the tool change pause (since all tools are loaded and the offsets are saved in the tool table etc etc).

Is there a way to change the tool on the fly without the pause?

Thank you in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Mar 2019 15:53 #127985 by pl7i92

More
07 Mar 2019 16:05 #127989 by andypugh

But - my question is - I want to advance past the manual input of hitting "OK" on the tool change pause (since all tools are loaded and the offsets are saved in the tool table etc etc).

If the tool table is all set up and everything is working other than a pointless tool change prompt then you just need to remove the hal_manualtoolchange from the HAL file.

change
net tool-change hal_manualtoolchange.change iocontrol.0.tool-change 
net tool-changed hal_manualtoolchange.changed iocontrol.0.tool-changed
net tool-prep-number hal_manualtoolchange.number iocontrol.0.tool-prep-number

to
net tool-change  iocontrol.0.tool-change  iocontrol.0.tool-changed

More
07 Mar 2019 16:11 #127990 by pl7i92
dont forget the toolchange position G30 to set in ini

More
07 Mar 2019 17:37 #128008 by matt_mcd
Thank you!

So let me throw a curveball into this.

If I want to actually stop and change a grooving tool out (tool #3) before my last operation for a cut off tool (tool #4)

Is there also control in the HAL file for a specific tool #? Is that the 0 after iocontrol? (Admittedly- I need to research the HAL file more.....)

More