Seeking pro's and con's while I design my first CNC build

More
03 Apr 2019 22:15 #130239 by Kylehopestolearn
Hi all. Yes I'm new to this subject. I have been gathering information for about a month now. I want to say the videos on Youtube from Joe Hildreth (Webpage: myheap.com , YouTube: www.youtube.com/c/myheap) really helped me organize the info I have gathered and gave me structure to follow moving forward. My plans are to build a 3 axis 4' x 4' machine. A 4th axis in the future but I'll deal with that after. I plan on having a variable height table top as I want the ability to work on materials 1/2" thick to a rough cut log 2' thick. From what I gather this isn't a problem as long as the frame doesn't flex from weight or table top movement between jobs. I plan on welding the frame from metal so that's just a matter of engineering.
Onto the LinuxCNC questions.
1. Jitter - Most of what I've read involves video tests to stress the system. LinuxCNC doesn't stess the video much right? I understand it uses the CPU clock to run the motion and any video that consumes cycles on the cpu can be bad but really the Jitter value is just a value needed when the cpu is under heavy load right?
2. Linear Motion - Are there pro's and con's to mechanical gearing vs microstep's? Mentally I would love to build into my machine switches to change microstep settings and have different config files for LinuxCNC so I can modify resolution vs speed issues depending on the current use case. I plan on using screws, type to be determined.

I am doing my best to see things in pro's and con's as I notice so many camps of thought and practice in regards to CNC. I have yet to really define my use case as I haven't even built one yet but I do see soooooo many possibilities. Any advice or direction is very welcome. Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Apr 2019 23:27 #130244 by andypugh