Beginner question

More
22 Jul 2019 18:38 #140213 by Traktor1Tarzan
Im currently building a cnc mill/router. It will have a system for coolant flooding, 2.2kw spindle, with VFD, 3-axis and nema 23 open loop stepper motors. Im welding the frame myself. I got a pc with i-5, and a decent videocard (compared to ubuntu and linuxcnc requirements)

But the thing i cannot figure out is the stepper controllers. Im new to linux, but wannt go the DIY route. Which is why im going with linuxcnc, not fusion 360.
Im looking for something that wont hinder speed, accuracy and repeatability of the build. And something that may allow me to upgrade the machine with nema 34 steppers and Automatic collect change(if this is possible with linuxcnc).

Im kinda stupid when it comes to stepper controllers so i hope you may give me some direction.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Jul 2019 18:55 #140216 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Beginner question
Fusion360 and Linuxcnc are not the same thing, although they do work in harmony .... on diferent computers as one uses windows and the other Linux as an operating system.
Fusion is CAM software or computer aided manufacturing, meaning it can draw models that can be output as gcode for use with machine controllers, that iz where Linuxcnc comes in play as it is a machine controler that uses the output of fusion to drive the machine and make those parts a reality.
As for drives and other stuff, there is a wide variety of them that can be used with Linuxcnc, from 10€ a piece for TB6600 ones to 150€ a piece for Lam Technologies.
Some more information on the machine would help, like what is it suposed to do, what are you using for the actual movement ( belts, ball screws, allthread, rack and pinion ), etc.