Debian install DVD ISO images not working due to CD-ROM bug in installer

More
02 Oct 2019 03:59 #146850 by pmconsulting
Although LinuxCNC proudly distributes its installers in both DVD and exciting, new Blu Ray images, burning any of these to a USB stick will not permit install because the installer is too stupid to know that it has all the files it needs right there on the USB stick.

During the install, the installer asks me to insert a CD-ROM in order to continue installation. One among many life-sapping examples of why this process is badly designed, poorly implemented and should be fixed before subjecting a single user to this nonsense.

Does anyone have a work-around or secret trick to get what should be a simple process to actually process?

I am so aggravated that I even have to ask something like this!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Oct 2019 07:17 #146861 by HueyHQ
I'm no expert here, but if you want to use a USB (and not a DVD), then download the ISO image, and use a disk imaging program like Rufus, or dd for Linux command line, to image to USB.

Alternatively to downloading, rip an ISO from the disc, then image to USB as above.

Trawling through the forums, I have learnt there are many ways to skin this cat, but my first suggestion was what I did when I first started.

If you want to get a later version than 2.7.14, I suggest going to gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/uspace/index.html and choose one of the options there (which is what I ended up doing.)

Hope that helps, and I haven't misinterpretated your issue.

More
02 Oct 2019 08:27 #146863 by pmconsulting
I've followed those instructions and have a bootable usb stick that I am able to run and start the installation process.

After I pick location & language, the installer then prompts for the CD-ROM that contains parts of the installation. I don't have CD's, just the image I've burned to the USB and which should already have whatever files it needs.