New member full of questions

More
25 Apr 2020 13:03 #165539 by kvintus
Hello everybody! I am new here so let me start by introducing myself.

I am new to everything here.
I have no experience with linuxCNC.
I have (almost) no experience with Linux.
I have very limited experience with CNC machines.
I have very limited experience with servos.
I have limited experience with steppermotors.
I have some basic knowledge of mechanical design and machining.
I have experience with electronics.

Now that you know my level of newbieness, this is what I want to do:

I am designing a CNC machine with moving gantry and a working area of about 700x500mm
I think that I will be using JMC or Clearpath integrated servos (step/dir) for all axis but I haven't bought anything yet.
The Y-axis (moving the gantry) will have two ballscrews, one on each side, driven by separate motors.
The gantry will have two separate heads moving along the X-axis, each with its own ballscrew and each head with its own Z-axis.

So I will have two servos for each axis for a total of 6 motors. The two motors moving the Y-axis will have to be in sync with each other and the rest should be independent from each other. I would also like to have the electronics prepared for adding a rotary axis in the future. So my electronics should be able to control 7 motors. And spindle speed. And a lot of I/O for coolant, sensors and stuff.

Now that you know my basic ideas, this is why I registered here:

I want you to tell me if LinuxCNC is a good choice for a complete newbie. I've understood that LinuxCNC is considered more competent than many other alternatives for the DIY crowd, but I have also heard that it has a very steep learning curve. Considering that I have no experience with either Linux nor LinuxCNC I understand that the learning curve will be extra steep. Is it doable and is it sensible?