LinuxCNC raspberry pi - Microcontroller to do realtime stuff

More
13 May 2020 15:29 #167654 by nickom44
Hello All,

Total newbie here with regards to Linuxcnc so the question might be naive or covered elsewhere.

From what I can gather the favoured equipment to do the realtime hard grunt stuff seems to be based around some form of Mesa card. Is there information on why an FPGA is considered best option to go for.

Best regards
nick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 May 2020 15:54 #167657 by tommylight
Simple reason is the Mesa boards are made to do one thing, and they do that very good, while RPI is made to do a lot of things and does non of them good ! But it is small ! :)

More
14 May 2020 08:48 #167713 by nickom44
Thanks Tommylight,

Does the Mesa card output pulses , bitstreams, etc that can't be handled by a low-cost microcontroller.

I'm interested in running LinuxCNC on a raspi and see the favoured option is to use a mesa card connected via ethernet (i think), the limitation with this is raspi v3 and lower doesn't have an ethernet port that can provide realtime output.

Could another option be to connect a microcontroller via I2C or SPI to the PI.

Thanks
Nick

More
14 May 2020 10:42 #167719 by nickom44
Having looked at the Mesa 7C81 manual , it connects via SPI to a PI so all looks very good.

More
14 May 2020 11:01 #167721 by tommylight

Thanks Tommylight,

Does the Mesa card output pulses , bitstreams, etc that can't be handled by a low-cost microcontroller.

I'm interested in running LinuxCNC on a raspi and see the favoured option is to use a mesa card connected via ethernet (i think), the limitation with this is raspi v3 and lower doesn't have an ethernet port that can provide realtime output.

Could another option be to connect a microcontroller via I2C or SPI to the PI.

Thanks
Nick

Mesa and PiDiCnc have boards that connect to RPI3 through SPI:
Mesa 7c80 <<< do check if this is correct
PididCnc 3805 for steppers