Wiring of servo spindle - MESA 7i76E

More
21 May 2022 15:08 - 21 May 2022 15:10 #243479 by deus
Hi All,

I was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction regarding my wiring for my servo spindle to a MESA 7I76E.
I bought a 2.2 kW servo spindle from China.

As I am quite new to all of this, it would be great if somebody could tell me if my wiring is (so far) correct and maybe fill in the gaps.

I am a little confused that there are not 2 inputs for SPINDLE DIR + and - on the servo.

I was also wondering if the TB4- Pin3 SPINDLE+ needs an exact 10 V supply or if a 12 V would be fine.
Any help would be very much appreciated.

This is the last little bit of my control box that I have to sort out.

Many thanks!!!
Attachments:
Last edit: 21 May 2022 15:10 by deus.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 May 2022 16:07 #243482 by PCW
The 7I76E spindle enable and direction outputs are switches so both leads must be used:

ENA- 24V GND
ENA+ Drive Speed Enable
DIR- 24V GND
DIR+ Drive Reverse

12V is OK, 16V is absolute max

More
22 May 2022 12:43 #243556 by deus
Excellent - Thank you very much that was very helpful.

As ENA+/- and DIR+/- operate as switches would that mean I could switch the suggested connections around.

I revised the wiring diagram. Does that look right to you?

I have a few more questions if you don't mind:
  • SEL needs to be connected to 24V DC - correct?
  • Where should I connect the Emergency Stop to?
  • What does DO COM stand for and where should I connect this one to (TB6 - PIN1 INPUT 0)?
  • Are Warn Output, Speed Reach, Zero Speed of any use for LinuxCNC and if yes where should I send them back to on the MESA board?
  • Is the connections OZ+ to IDX- and OZ- to IDX+ correct? Or do they need to be swapped around?
Thank you!
Attachments:

More
22 May 2022 14:51 - 22 May 2022 14:51 #243560 by PCW
The diagram looks correct

I suspect DO COM either goes to ground of +24V but this needs to be checked in the