Help with gantry machine. Dual motor setup

More
23 Sep 2022 17:50 - 23 Sep 2022 17:58 #252629 by Mulholland
Hello Linuxcnc Forum,I have been using my router now with linuxcnc for about 6 years or so and mostly without a problem.

It's a XYYZ gantry machine and I have until yesterday been manually squaring the gantry (hard stops with power off).I recently decided to implement gantry squaring in the homing sequence, which took a bit of figuring out but it works like it should. The problem that I can't seem to work out now is the gantry motors wont reach full speed without stalling or missing steps! Obviously bad for a gantry!

The only thing different (that I can tell) is both Y motors are getting different step and direction signals. Before I changed things over both Y drivers were sharing parport pins, one step and direction for both drivers.I feel like it has something to do with timing or latency but maybe I missed a critical step? Do I need to sync the motors some other way after homing? I mean if it jogs like it should after homing it should be right, right? 

I really tried to avoid starting a new thread on gantry/dual motor problems but I have been sitting here all day searching through old posts, reading about double-steps and going through the documentation but I can't seem to find it out. If anyone can point me to the right information I would greatly appreciate it. 

Thanks,

Jeremy

File Attachment:

File Name: router.ini
File Size:4 KB

File Attachment:

File Name: router.hal
File Size:5 KB
Attachments:
Last edit: 23 Sep 2022 17:58 by Mulholland. Reason: Attachments

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Sep 2022 22:13 #252638 by rodw
Looks like none of your joints have the following critical settings
DIRSETUP   = 5000
DIRHOLD    = 5000
STEPLEN    = 10000
STEPSPACE  = 10000
STEP_SCALE = 10000

Don't assume my values are correct. They are just a bit of a guess.

More