Which Mesa card should I buy?

More
07 Jun 2023 19:59 #273103 by JeanMartin31
Hi everyone, 
I am very new in the universe of Linux CNC and programming a CNC. So I have a few question about this.

Recently, I learn that I need a Mesa Card to make a CNC. I was wondering why I need that part and which one should I pick ? Because in the pncconf, there are quite a few card that I can use. 

Thank you !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jun 2023 20:46 #273112 by tommylight
You do not need a Mesa card, you can happily run even an industrial machine with a parallel port, i know i did :)
Find a used PC with a parallel port and wire stuff up, make it work, then see if you need or want to upgrade.
Parallel port has it's limitations, but it is perfect for plenty of stuff, there are still parallel port cards on sale, new, but some are "software emulation" so will not work for machine control, some do work, just plug in and boot.
Mesa cards are a different beast, although some can do parallel port stuff/pinout, but at a much, much faster rate. Oh and each Mesa has at least 2 of those very fast parallel ports, and is not limited on what pins can do as the parallel port is, Mesa can do anything on any port at ridiculously high speeds.
The Mesa combo boards are a treat also for wiring, makes everything simple and not "spaghetti monster"
And can be upgraded and extended and combined.... and...
The following user(s) said Thank You: dbravo13

More
07 Jun 2023 20:49 #273113 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Which Mesa card should I buy?
You do not need a Mesa card to run LinuxCNC, its is one of many options.
The simplest is perhaps a parallel port.

What hardware is appropriate depends on what machine you wish to
control, what performance you expect, and how much time you are
willing to devote to setting up the controller.

What kind of machine and motor drives do you have?

More
07 Jun 2023 21:57 #273120 by JeanMartin31
Thanks for the answer!