firmware 5i25,7i85,8i20 brushless servo drive

More
05 Mar 2014 04:10 - 05 Mar 2014 05:34 #44412 by johns00056
I downloaded some firmware, per previous posts on this forum, but I am not seeing the exact combination of boards that I am using. Would someone kindly point me toward the correct firmware, or suggest alternate boards to use on the pncconf wizard.

I am completely new to linux and would like to concentrate my learning efforts in the right direction.

I have a 3 axis mill with brushless servo motors and a MPG. I bought 5i25, 7i85 and 8i20 at the suggestion of the tech guy at Mesa ,over the telephone.

I would like to get one axis working,for now, and worry about the fancy stuff later.

Attachments:
Last edit: 05 Mar 2014 05:34 by johns00056.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Mar 2014 07:41 #44421 by PCW
Its unlikely that pncconf will be able to handle this combination of cards
so you will have to start with an example servo hal file and modify it to suit

More
05 Mar 2014 12:31 #44423 by cmorley
Peter is right PNCconf doesn"t handle the 7i85 yet and I have never tested the support for the 8i20.

Sorry about that.

Chris M

More
05 Mar 2014 20:55 #44436 by johns00056
Thanks for the responses . I will get to work figuring out how to do it manually.

More
05 Mar 2014 22:10 #44441 by andypugh

Thanks for the responses . I will get to work figuring out how to do it manually.

I am using a broadly similar setup (except that all the cards are different, 5i23, 7i49, 7i44). I will post my config when I get home.

Setting up the bldc component to commutate properly will be a good part of the effort. You probably want to set the motors up disconnected and make them run smoothly at the same speed in both directions first.
Do the motors have hall sensors?

More
06 Mar 2014 11:14 #44475 by Todd Zuercher