Wrong polarity on Vfield on Mesa cards is bad.....

More
09 Aug 2014 23:52 #49623 by akb1212
I just found out...... PCW is correct. Putting the wrong polarity on Vfield will kill your board.......

Not that I readily didn't know that already. I just forgot to test one more time before I connected it all up. And I'm an electronics engineer, so I should know..... But it's so much to think about that something like this is easily forgotten.

Robustly designed as these cards are this is one place I could wish for better protection. It wouldn't be too difficult to put a protection diode in there. These ports are meant to be connected to all kinds of machines. And other factors can mess with these supplies.
And the voltage loss over such a protection diode shouldn't be too much of a problem, alternatively it could be possible to bypass it with a jumper if it is critical. I might put together an external protection filter for my own use when I have bought new cards.....

I don't think I'm the first person to toast my 7i77 (and my 7i84), so if you are considering making hardware updates to these cards this is one improvement I would hope Mesa can consider implementing. The added cost would probably not be that great anyway, diodes are cheap. This is dependent on how much functionality you put in to it obviously. There are loads of functions that could be added, but basic protection against wrong polarity alone should not be too complicated (and not add much to the parts cost). Overvoltage could also be considered, but would probably ad more to cost than basic diode protection.

And for those of you that use this card..... do check the polarity of your Vfield one extra time as this is one thing that WILL toast your card if you get it wrong! I speak from personal experience.... :blush:

Now to Mesa's new webshop to get new cards..... and after that wait for them to be shipped all the way to Norway.... sigh....

Anders