Using 7i78 step generators with 7i76e

More
27 Sep 2019 00:55 - 27 Sep 2019 00:57 #146308 by 5r100w
Hello all,

I am new to linuxcnc but have done a lot of reading on here and first would like to thank all the contributors as I have been able to set up a 7i76e with 5 step generators and have all axes on my machine homing and behaving correctly after initial setup with pncconf.

Now I need one more step generator for an independent axis and I have purchased a single 7i78 card to connect to the 7i76e.

I have flashed 7i76e with the 7i76e_7i76x1_7i78x1D.bit file which I found in another users post.

It does not appear that pncconf supports 7i78 so I realize that I need to code this manually in the hal and ini files.

I have been unable to figure out how to do this. In the beginning of my HAL file I changed the number of step generators in the statement:

loadrt hm2_eth board_ip="10.10.10.10" config=" num_encoders=1 num_pwmgens=0 num_stepgens=9 sserial_port_0=00xxxx

I did this with the assumption that because of the bitfile I have loaded, I can now manually add additional step generator/axis in HAL and INI file with HAL command like "setp hm2_7i76e.0.stepgen.xx.CC" where xx is additional step generators 05 thru 09 and CC are the setup commands for the axis but it does not work. I am reading the HOSTMOT2 manual but I can find little information about using the 7i78. I understand that this board just extends the P1/P2 connector of the 7i76e but I don't understand what I am doing wrong yet.