6i25 - 7i76/7i74 Pncconf and general questions

More
30 Dec 2021 11:07 #230329 by EGR
Good Morning to everyone.
I'm new in the world of CNC, (appologies in advance my ignorance and mistakes.)
Being a bit bored with my commercial 3D printer, I have decided to build a CNC ! I'm currently a the prototyping/understanding phase (see the pic of the little ugly monster).
I have started with only a 6i25 + a 7i76 with pncconf: everything went well; then I wanted to use an additional 7i74 (with 7i70 + 7i71)
- I "mesaflashed" my 6i25 as a 5i25 (bit file for 7i76 + 7i74)
- I power the boards prior to the PC
- 6i25 power output is disabled, 7i76 & 7i74 are powered with 5V : continuous yellow leds ok:
- 7i76 & 7i70 & 7i71 are powered with +12V (waiting for a +24V power supply) : Continuous yellow leds ok
- 7i70 & 7i71 also have the red led continuously on (I understood that is is expected until communication is established ?)

But now I don't see anything new in pncconf and if I understand correctly my mesaflash readhmid, I don't see neither the extra port of the new cards nor even the additional serials.

I read several topics on config files to be updated, but I feel a bit lost: is it mandatory in my case or something should be visible in pncconf ? and if I have to modify hal file(s), does any one have the ref of a complet tutorial ?

Thank you very much to anyone who could help.

Have a great end-of-the-year and be safe.

EGr
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Dec 2021 15:38 #230343 by PCW
pncconf will not show anything new, it doesn't actually
probe hardware except for motion tests.

If you start the hostmot2 driver either with a test hal file
or by hand, it will probe the new sserial cards.

Here is how to do this by hand:

halcmd -kf
halcmd: loadrt hostmot2
halcmd loadrt hm2_pci config="sserial_port_0=00 sserial_port_1=00000000"
The following user(s) said Thank You: EGR

More
31 Dec 2021 00:39 #230374 by cmorley