[YES]Is there a way to create/generate firmware .xml from an existing .pin file?

More
22 Jul 2022 08:10 - 24 Jul 2022 08:08 #248012 by clunc
Q. Is there some way to generate an .xml file from a .pin file?
[EDIT A. Yes, by enabling an Advanced option in PnCConf, later versions of LinuxCNC can read Mesa card configurations directly from .pin file information copied and pasted into an Input tab in PnCConf.]

I'm only beginning to try to get a Mesa 6i25 to replace the software-stepping parallel-port approach I relied on for years.

Because my setup has a PWMGen on Pin 1 of the parallel port, I looked through some firmware .pin files for the 5i25 (the 6i25 is mostly a PCIe variant) and found a couple that looked promising for flashing into my card, 5ABOBx2 and dmmbob1x2. I believe others have had success in using these with "Chinese BOBs/BreakOutBoards" like mine.

I have no idea--whatsoever--how PnCConf works, but I've seen a reference suggesting that it will look for firmwares in:
/lib/firmware/hm2/ in the form of .xml files.

Unfortunately, no 5ABOBx2.xml file was provided in the 5i25.zip file I downloaded from the vendor. Whence the question.

Thanks.

Last edit: 24 Jul 2022 08:08 by clunc. Reason: Finalize

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Jul 2022 19:05 #248061 by cmorley
What version of linuxcnc are you using?
In master version, if you turn on advanced pages, an option to read the actual cards (or read a supplied PIN file) is available on the mesa page - it's called disovery option.
It's also very experimental.

More
22 Jul 2022 19:08 #248062 by cmorley

More
22 Jul 2022 19:19 #248063 by cmorley
This is mostly from memory..

on the start page check 'show advanced pages'
on the mesa card page set board name to 'discovery option'

If using the PIN file :
copy the pin file text to the 'input' tab after pressing the help key
if not make sure the card is connected and powered

press the now displayed board discovery