Gscreen Industrial Glade Modification

More
04 Jan 2020 02:57 #153949 by mmt
I need a little assistance modifying industrial.glade. I already have it in the config directory along with the industrial handler file and I have created some standalone glade screens for other projects so I am a beginner but not a total rookie.

In the attached pic I drew what I want to achieve. I basically want to move (or duplicate, doesn't matter to me) the axis buttons circled in red to the location where the red buttons are drawn. Also move or duplicate the current tool number down where indicated in blue.

I have can create all of now but it doesn't appear when I run linuxcnc from the command prompt and verify the correct file is loading.

The whole frames thing is still new to me so I'm not really sure what i am doing wrong.

Thanks
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Jan 2020 03:42 #153952 by cmorley
So If I understand you have built a new GLADE panel for gscreen but it is not loaded, the default one is?
Or are you asking how to do this modification?

Gscreen will use a 'local' GLADE file if it is present in the config file and named exactly like the original (industrial.glade in your case)
this process works just like the handler file from your other thread.
Running from the terminal should give clues what file is being used.

Oh wait you said you did confirm the file is loading ! great.
As you see in the GLADE file all available dros and buttons are present and Gscreen will only show those axes that are actually available.
It does this by setting the DRO/button widgets not visible then setting the visible when it confirms the axes are availble. By moving the widgets they may be out of context of the code. If you copied/moved the widgets then they will still be set invisible.
If you select the widget then check the properties on the right hand tab under 'common' look for 'visible' make sure it says yes.