help with z axis (solved)

More
18 Apr 2013 13:27 - 19 Apr 2013 12:59 #32873 by rotccapt
hi all i am very new to this whole cnc thing. i have the basics down and i am using google sketchup with the sketchucam plugin to generate my g code.

so my machine is a hobby cnc 3 axis router. each axis is driven by one stepper motor and lead screws. i did not build the machine so im not exactly sure what pitch the lead screws are but i think i got them all pretty close. i have confirmed that my x and y axis are scaled correctly but my z is not. for the most part i have just been doing mdi commands to test my axis. so when i jog down to what would be my material thickness and home the z axis which would for this instance make my tool 0.25 inches off the bed. if i enter G0 Z -0.25 my tool moves exactly -0.125 inches which should have been -0.25 inches. what would i need to do to fix this problem?

for the lead screws i tried my best to count the threads per inch and i think im at about 17 for the z axis also when i did the test this axis command in step config i noticed that if i gave the distance of .5 inches the z axis moves about .25 either way

here is what the step config generated file shows for my z axis

[AXIS_2]
TYPE = LINEAR
HOME = 0.0
MAX_VELOCITY = 2.2
MAX_ACCELERATION = 44.0
STEPGEN_MAXACCEL = 55.0
SCALE = 6800.0
FERROR = 0.05
MIN_FERROR = 0.01
MIN_LIMIT = -1.0
MAX_LIMIT = 0.01
HOME_OFFSET = 0.0

thank you for your help
Last edit: 19 Apr 2013 12:59 by rotccapt.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Apr 2013 14:21 #32874 by ArcEye
Replied by ArcEye on topic help with z axis
Hi

The scale figure controls how many pulses equal 1 unit of movement, in your case 1"

If you are moving 75% of the distance you command, the calculation is quite basic
(6800 / 75) x 100 is your new scale figure, so try that.

See linuxcnc.org/docs/2.5/html/config/ini_co...d_sub_axis_section_a

regards

More
18 Apr 2013 20:45 #32878 by andypugh