Control of second Z axis by input from paraport

More
22 Apr 2013 03:46 #32973 by meyerga00
Greetings all,

I'm a bit of a newb and have to date converted a old 3 axis Archdale mill and built a 3 axis router that both run on LinuxCNC. I have a commission to build a machine that will do V-carve routing on the outside of wooden barrels. The OD of these barrels are about 16" and can have a random out of roundness of about 1/2". My plan is to control the V-carve bit in a Y axis - Z axis configuration while the barrel is rotated via the B axis. Due to the random out of round nature of the barrel surface and the need to somewhat accurately control the depth of the V-carve cut , my plan was to have a separate stepper controlled by a sensor that follows the elevation of the barrel surface. This stepper will be used to raise and lower a secondary Z-axis stage that will be controlled by regular G-code that is used to carve the barrel graphics. I want to be able to feed digital input from the sensor to the parallel port and use those signals to control the stepper that will raise and lower the secondary Z-axis stage. Can anyone help me out or point me in the right direction as far as HAL commands to control the primary Z-axis stage? A.K.A If paraport pin 13 goes high the primary Z stepper turns one direction until pin 13 goes low and if pin 12 goes high then the primary stepper turns the other direction until pin 12 goes low.

TIA

Greg

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Apr 2013 17:00 #32986 by Rick G
You might want to look at Torch height control for a starting point.

Rick G

More
22 Apr 2013 18:04 #32988 by meyerga00
Thanks Rick for your suggestion.