Setting up external E-stop, limits & home switches

More
01 Jul 2013 10:24 #36183 by AggieMEEN
The background: Total newbie trying to climb the learning curve. I'm running a 3-axis gantry style CNC router (The FLA-100 to be exact) driven by a G540 stepper controller with NEMA-23 motors.

I've got an external E-stop that's linked in to the G540, and while it works fine to stop the machine via the G540, LinuxCNC keeps running the program as if nothing happened. I'd very much like to have LinuxCNC stop along with the machine, and show that the E-stop had been tripped. How is this done? Through stepconf wizard? Manually editing some configuration?

There are six miniature switches waiting to be installed onto the mill to serve as limit and home switches for the three axes. Are these configured in the same way as the E-stop?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Jul 2013 14:23 #36184 by cncbasher
you need to have your estop switch as an input to linuxcnc
not knowing how this switch is wired , I can only give general info at the moment

estop is an input which is normaly closed and can be selected in stepconf .
you then have 3 options either use the estop out pin to operate a relay , or use the amplifier enable , or as with the geko's the charge pump

the appropriate additional lines needed in your hal file are
with estop switch input being for example pin 15 and an estop output for relay being pin 14

net estop-ext <= parport.0.pin-15-in
net estop-out => parport.0.pin-14-out
as your using g540's then you will be using the charge pump so you should already have the following line

net estop-out charge-pump.enable iocontrol.0.user-enable-out

the limit and homing done a similar way by adding the input pins again stepconf can be used or just hand edit the halfile

More
01 Jul 2013 17:26 #36189 by BigJohnT