AC Servo: Analog or Step/Dir?

More
28 Oct 2015 11:00 #64381 by buckym1a
Hello,

Im working on setting up to build a high precision CNC lathe using LCNC, Mesa interface cards, and AC servos. This is not my first CNC build but this is my first time using LCNC, Mesa, and AC servos. The servo drives I have are Mitsubishi MR-J3 drives and will take either a +- 10v analog or step/dir control signal.

So my question now is: which would be the better of the two for CNC machine control?

Ive done some digging around here and elsewhere but have not yet come up with any solid information on the subject, though Its possible Im just being dense or not looking in the right places. Most of what Ive found is either subjective, or not quite relevant to my setup, but I have noticed a general leaning toward analog control, which is what I had originally intended to go with. Usually the reason given for using analog is because its easier. Now Im all for easy but I also recognize that easier doesn't always mean better.

So Im looking for some solid "good, bad, and ugly" for both control schemes.

To help add some context, this is not a production machine that I need to have up and running to meet an order deadline, or a simple weekend hobby machine. This is a "Because I can" long term project, I don't care if it takes a couple years to bring it to completion, in fact I'm quite sure it will take that long or longer. My goal is to end up with a specialized high precision machine, and expand my machine building skill and knowledge base.

Some things Im looking at:
The MR-J3 drives come with three control modes: Position, Speed, and Torque. Of these the position and speed modes are what Im considering.
I like the speed mode option as it is simple to set up, uses analog control, and allows easy encoder feedback to LCNC.