wj200_vfd failed setp wj200_vfd.0.mbslave (solved)

More
22 Feb 2016 07:35 #70470 by bob8020
Very happy to have found linuxcnc, I'm new to CNC but had no difficulty in the setup of an XYX gantry router, using a Mesa 7i76 to steppers and a Hitachi WJ200 VFD using FWD, REV and 0-10v analog frequency control inputs. Everything about LinuxCNC has been very intuitive and easy to use.

So of course I tried to add modbus (mostly to read back WJ200 status) and it is *almost* working... but not quite.

My .hal file is created using the pncconf wizard. Then I manually added these two lines to the .hal file right after the other loadrt lines:

loadusr -W wj200_vfd
setp wj200_vfd.0.mbslaveaddr 1

Unfortunately after adding those two lines, linuxcnc fails immediately with this error:

LINUXCNC - 2.7.4
./my_LinuxCNC_machine.hal:12: parameter or pin 'wj200_vfd.0.mbslaveaddr' not found

If I leave out the setp then things start up OK but of course wj200_vfd does nothing. I looked at the source and have read the very helpful postings from Eric (green751) but don't understand what I am doing wrong.

I was able to confirm that the rs485 connection is OK. It uses /dev/ttyS0 through a converter to RS-485, and tested like this:

modpoll -m rtu -b 9600 -d 8 -s 1 -p none -r 2 /dev/ttyS0

I can see the actual VFD frequency from the above modpoll command, and it changes as I change the frequency from the keypad on the VFD, so I think that the modbus hardware is all working fine.